Skip navigation

I’ve been struggling with this blog for the past week. I like the new theme very much but miss having links and stuff at the side. So I’ve started a new page called Inspirations where I hope to be able to store links and ideas and all manner of other stuff from different eras of my life in Brighton, London, Wales, and Greece that feed into my particular river, float my boat etc. Just two links there to two good friends at the moment, each a special facet of my life which has been somewhat varied to say the least. I see possibilities! Exciting possibilities.

Back in the 70s I can remember long conversations about how no particular available medium exactly suited to convey our particular consciousness of our time. No wonder really, it was just the start of an era where people opened their eyes onto a world so very much larger, more immediate and more unusual than their ancestors could ever have imagined. Things – events, ideas, people, obsessions, fashions, homes, hearts, minds – moved faster than ever before, mixing and clashing invading and interweaving.

Media of personal expression of all sorts were being stretched and torn open. In those days few artists considered themselves close friends with technology. But it is technology that has provided the explosive new arena where art is no longer about static finished works forged in isolation. The blog is still a baby in terms of art and possibly many of us who might make wild use of it are still nervous and intimidated by the technicalities. But the free-form and collaborative potential is something that still has many minds to blow….. Call me slow but I’m just beginning to get it!!

Hundreds of years from now our era will surely be seen as extraordinary (the jury’s still out on whether it’s an extraordinary tragedy, comedy or epic – but evolutionary it most certainly will be by then known to be).

Also, I’ve added a new Gallery page today using a slideshow thing from Slide that has all the paintings I’ve so far got available online for printing. Very cool gadget, I like it. What fun! This makes me want to create more than ever….feels a lot more like there’s a point!

Leave a Reply

