Skip navigation

This is my Little Angel card. I made the painting last Christmas after a visit to a village above Ermoupoli on Syros called Alithini, which means Truth. There’s the most amazing view over the city and out across the Aegean up there (as well as a taverna hosted by one of Nature’s true gentlemen)

So this Angel, she’s walking along the path towards truth, and behind her you can see the two great churches of Syros. On the left the awesome Catholic Basilica of St George, affectionately known as Agios Tzortzi, and on the right the bright blue dome of the Orthodox Church of the Resurrection, known as Anastasi in Greek. Syros is famous for the happy coexistence of the two churches side by side on this island. As I’m sure you know Greece is historically Orthodox but Syros, for some slightly unfathomable reason, had until recently a predominantly Catholic population. I’m not alone in believing that the need for the two churches to live together somehow contributes to the gently humorous and kindly character that is so obviously the norm here. Or maybe it’s the character of the Syriani (due to something in the water or suchlike) which has led to this really very unusual intermeshing of the two faiths. You really have to experience it to understand it I guess but in a world where faith seems to more often inspire people to hate eachother rather than love and appreciate I really wish I could bottle whatever it is that makes this place tick.

As for the little angel herself, when I painted her a year ago I had never heard of Madeleine McCann but now this picture reminds me so much of her. I’ve spent most of this year worrying about her and incredulous and appalled at the spite and venom directed at her poor family. I so wish that this cheerful little picture might turn out to be a seen in days to come as a herald of her safe return.

Little Angel

2 Comments

  1. Great blog!

    This painting is awesome. She looks just like an angel.

    You have remarkable talent. I can barely draw a stick figure and my students are always giggling at my drawings.

  2. Interesting site


Leave a Reply

