Skip navigation

THE RETURN

Acrylic on Canvas

Lots of people like this painting, especially kids. It was begun in about 1985 and dabbed at in disorganised and dreamy fashion over a lot of years. I have never finished it but plan to soon. It’s time. I’ve put it in because my friends like it. Also in a way it is the beginning of my journey to Syros although I didn’t realise that at the time. I had been living here for several years before the penny dropped one day when I was looking at this picture and trying to figure out what to do with it. Thinking back to what I had been seeing in my mind’s eye when I began it finally dawned on me that the original inspiration had come from seeing the amazing view of Syros that you see from the boat when you call into port here en route someplace else. For all those years I had been painting my future home without knowing it. I even think I recognise some of the people, especially some of the kids I have taught English to here! I had been privately calling it “The Return” for years because it seemed to me that all the smiling people in the little boats were coming to welcome someone who had been away for a very long time.

The Return

PLEASE NOTE I NOW HAVE NEW WEBSITES at www.aegeanlight.co.uk and www.anotherlight.co.uk

7 Comments

  1. The coloured island mounts behind the smiles
    Of those who come to welcome me back home.
    It seems as though I’ve wandered many miles
    But now there is no further need to roam.
    A happiness implanted in bright hills
    And in the twisty streets of steepy town
    Will chase away all memories of ills
    that may have lingered in my beetling frown.
    I look at life with eyes that seem quite new
    And all the wrinkles of my youth have fled.
    No longer do i see the world askew
    As I lie down upon my fresh-made bed.
    What should perhaps feel more like foreign part
    Has wormed its joyful way into my heart.

  2. Thanks to my Big Brother for a poem specially for my painting. I can’t believe I’ve never sent you a picture of this one before now! xxx

  3. This is my absolute favourite Gina! I have original paintings from Bali with a simialr feel, believe it or not.

    Again, I could look at this every day and see something new each time.

    It has a magical quality in both it’s execution and in the feelings it prompts.

    It has lovely movement as it draws the eye in a swinging motion up the hill to the church.

    And what a wonderful poem to go with it…must be something in the genes!

  4. so beautiful miss gina…i love your work

  5. Twittens
    This town is blessed with many a scret twitten
    And alleys that lead on from here to where
    Dark corners glow when on a sudden smitten
    By coruscating sunbeams that we share.
    The clarity of light shows how this hill
    Is climbed by ziggurat of jumble perched
    Old houses that all overlap and fill
    Defences that invading armies searched.
    For many decades peace has come to reign
    And made firm friends of once divided sects.
    Elsewhere intolerance may leave its stain
    But here fraternal love each church directs.
    It is not yet quite paradise on earth
    But here at least it well may come to birth.

  6. Gina its so wonderful to see all these lovely people in their little boats again. I remember it well from Robert St and often recall it in my minds eye, along with the stories you told about it. Go well Honeyxx

  7. I can’t wait for this painting to be finished so I can have a print of it in my new home. I love it and could spend hours admiring it. What talent.


Leave a Reply

